Wednesday, July 01, 2009

D.C. Teachers Become Central Office Fellows

Chancellor Michelle A. Rhee, who presided over the firing of 250 teachers last month, is also continuing her attempts to build bridges with District educators by bringing six of them into her office for a five-week summer fellowship.

The teachers are: Aris Pangilinan (math), HD Woodson High School, a winner of the 2009 Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher award presented by The Washington Post Educational Foundation; Brooke Buerkle (social studies), Columbia Heights Educational Campus, named Outstanding First Year Teacher by DCPS in 2008; Cynthia Robinson (first grade), H.D. Cooke Elementary, who serves on the board of the Capital Area National Association for Bilingual Education; Lynn Lahti-Hommeyer (elementary science resource), Bruce-Monroe Elementary@ Parkview, honored at a 2006 White House ceremony with a presidential award for excellence in mathematics and science teaching; Margaret Slye (literacy professional developer), Scott Montgomery Elementary, a former Teach For America corps member, and Tondra J. Odom-Owens (fifth grade), Savoy Elementary, who co-wrote the current fourth grade learning standards in reading and language arts for DCPS.

Two of the well deserving Fellows are colleagues close to my heart, Aris Pangilinan who's making us Filipino teachers proud, and Tondra Owens (NBCT) who was with my National Board Certification class with George Washington University.
Did I apply? Yes. Did I make it? Obviously no :( I need to do better in phone interviews; there'll be next time.

No comments:

Promethean Planet


The following is the opinion of the writer and is not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Any view or opinion represented in the blog comments are personal and is accredited to the respective commentor / visitor to this blog. This blogger reserves the right to moderate comment suitability in support of respecting racial, religious and political sensitivities, and in order to protect the rights of each commentor where available.