Saturday, March 19, 2011

WashPost Awards Outstanding Metro-Area Teachers, School Principals

I received an email yesterday which made me smile and recall a Christmas surprise in 2006 when I was one of the recipients of The Washington Post Grants in Education. It's time to give a shout out to our 2011 recipients, here's the email:

Hi, Maria-
The winners of the annual Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards and The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards have been announced. The names of the teachers and principals and the school districts they represent are available in the press release below.

I thought you might be interested in sharing the good news with your readers. Thanks!



The Washington Post Announces Recipients of 2011 Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards, The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards

WASHINGTON--March 18, 2011--Today The Washington Post recognizes 21 teachers and 19 school principals for their creative and quality instruction and contribution to the improvement of education in the Washington metropolitan area. The Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards were established to spotlight principals who create exceptional educational environments for their students. The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards acknowledge teachers who work hard to ensure children receive a high-quality education.

The winners of The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards are:
Sandra Slaven, Jefferson-Houston Elementary School (Alexandria City)
Danny Imwold, Northeast High School (Anne Arundel County)
Matthew Tosiello, Randolph Elementary School (Arlington)
Marcelle Gruver, Sunderland Elementary School (Calvert County)
Christine Dutrow, North Point High School (Charles County)
Christina Williams, The SEED Public Charter School (District of Columbia Public Charter)
Giovanni Peña, Oyster-Adams Bilingual School (District of Columbia)
Jamie Sawatzky, Rocky Run Middle School (Fairfax County)
Suzanne Planas, George Mason High School (Falls Church City)
Susan Robertson, Greenville Elementary School (Fauquier County)
Brenda Tarquinio, Orchard Grove Elementary School (Frederick County)
Lori Speelman, Hollifield Station Elementary School (Howard County)
K. David Keller, Stone Bridge High School (Loudoun County)
Sandra Reynolds, Mayfield Elementary School (Manassas City)
Kellie Jones, Cougar Elementary School (Manassas Park City )
Chuch Orifici, Clarksburg High School (Montgomery County)
Brian Weeks, Greenbelt Elementary School (Prince George's County)
Maryann O'Brien, Forest Park High School (Prince William County)
Thomas Krawczewicz, DeMatha Catholic High School (Private School)
Michelle Hirtz, Lexington Park Elementary Schools (St. Mary's County)
David Vita, Anne E. Moncure Elementary School (Stafford County)

The winners of the Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards are:
Keisha Boggan, Francis C. Hammond Middle School (Alexandria City)
Sharon Stratton, Arundel High School (Anne Arundel County)
Mary Begley, Arlington Science Focus School (Arlington)
Karen Vogel, Sunderland Elementary School (Calvert County)
Amy DiSabatino, William B. Wade Elementary School (Charles County)
Chloe Marshall, Hope Community Public Charter School-Tolson Campus (District of Columbia Public Charter)
Cheryl Warley, J.O. Wilson Elementary School (District of Columbia)
Maureen Marshall, Garfield Elementary School (Fairfax County)
Roger Lee, Liberty High School (Fauquier County)
Kathleen Schlappal, Tuscarora High School (Frederick County)
Michael Goins, Ellicott Mills Middle School (Howard County)
Timothy Flynn, Belmont Ridge Middle School (Loudoun County)
Rebecca Stone, R.C. Haydon Elementary (Manassas City)
Judy Brubaker, Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School (Montgomery County)
Judith White, Dodge Park Elementary School (Prince George's County)
Andrew Buchheit, Bristow Run Elementary School (Prince William County)
Sheila Martinez, Our Lady of Victory School (Private School)
Susie Fowler, Lexington Park Elementary School (St. Mary's County)
Thomas Nichols, North Stafford High School (Stafford County)

Teachers, students, former students, parents, administrators or the general public submitted nominations and each participating public school system made the final selection.

The Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards winners will be honored at a Post reception on April 28 and will be given the opportunity to participate in an off-site seminar focusing on media and crisis communication. The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards winners will be recognized at a Post ceremony on May 10 and will each receive $3,000. Attendance to both events are by invitation only. An ad will also run in The Washington Post with all the awardees' photos.

For more information about the 2011 recipients, please visit .

No comments:

Promethean Planet


The following is the opinion of the writer and is not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Any view or opinion represented in the blog comments are personal and is accredited to the respective commentor / visitor to this blog. This blogger reserves the right to moderate comment suitability in support of respecting racial, religious and political sensitivities, and in order to protect the rights of each commentor where available.